a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: lonely heart edition

with 5 comments

Yes yes, boo hoo… I have been lonely this week, mostly because my Frannie is off on a 10 day business trip in Asia. Sadface. I miss him.

1. Doctor visit
I went to the doctor to finally see him about the pain in my leg and he said it’s probably a torn hamstring that is just taking a while to heal up. I’m glad that he deduced that it’s not something worse and gave me a pamphlet with a series of exercises to help the recover along.

2. Considerate friends
Yeah. They are just plain nice.

3. Doing it myself
I talked about my bike repair adventures in another post, but let me just repeat that doing stuff myself is pretty awesome, and having friends who help me out are even better! I feel very fortunate.

4. Natto breakfast
Before Frannie left, he stocked the fridge with food for me while he’s gone. If I’m alone, I don’t tend to cook much and end up just eating small meals like natto and rice or rice and panchan. I like cooking, but sometimes I feel a little overwhelmed by cooking a nice meal for myself after I get home from work and I’d rather make something really simple to fill my belly.

The best thing he bought was a package of natto with mustard sauce. Seriously, I love natto! I’ve been eating it on rice for breakfast and alone as a snack at night before bed. I finished the last pack this morning, so I’m trying to figure out how I can haul my butt to the store to get more tonight!

5. I really love my friends
Yeah. I know I already talked about friends briefly in #3, but I feel like I really need to emphasize it this week. Wait, don’t I talk about how much I appreciate and adore my friends every week? Well it’s true. I do.

This week, I’ve felt especially grateful for my friends who meet for random dinners, go on bike rides, show me how to perform basic bike maintenance, and make me laugh my butt off. Ah, friends.

Written by Reese

May 21, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Posted in just life

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. to friends!! *cling* (sparkling wine)

    maomau

    May 21, 2010 at 4:06 pm

  2. Torn hammy is no fun. Rest up!

    Jeff D

    May 22, 2010 at 11:40 am

    • If by rest you mean, stretch it a lot and then ride up and down a ton of hills, then YES I am following orders!

      No seriously, I’m taking it pretty easy. I go up a lot of hills when I ride around town, but I also don’t push and go up really fast. I just go up nice and slow!

      Reese

      May 22, 2010 at 2:48 pm

  3. Hi, Reese. Thanks for popping by the gallery on Friday. Sorry we didn’t get a chance to chat. Hopefully another time! -Lilia

    Lilia

    May 26, 2010 at 12:43 pm


Leave a Reply

