a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: Biketastic edition

with 2 comments

Yes yes, I know that I talk about the bikey life way more than I really need to, but it’s such a big part of my life right now that I can’t help but gush about it to everyone I know.

1. A beautiful Sunday

This past Sunday I met with J in the Mish and we went to a bunch of random furniture and thrift shops. We both bought some used books and ended up at the Elbo Room for a beer or two and a nice talk. It’s good to have close friends nearby. Does making friends and opening up to them mean that I’m really settling in here? Is this the place to end my constantly nomadic travels? I want to say no, but who knows, maybe it is.

We're on sale!

2. Peaceful rides

I love riding through the Presidio at night. It feels so peaceful and the seemingly never-ending hills make me feel invigorated. It’s nice feeling alone in the middle of this giant city.

A lonely road

3. Blue gets an upgrade

So, depending on who you are, you may think this is a downgrade. This weekend I popped the LeTour’s drop handlebars onto Blue, also adding some aero brake levers that A gave me. The upright handlebars were really nice, but the original bike had drops so it’s been good to put those back on. She feels a lot more stable going down hills and the brake levers pull more than the old ones. I haven’t taped the bars up yet, but I’m going to wait on that for a little while to see how horrible and painful it really is before I do it. I like the look of the bare handlebars, so if I can tough it out, I’ll just leave them bare.

Drop it like it's hot

4. My bikey friend

I love my friend A. I love riding with him, and I love hanging out with him. He is pretty much the best bikey friend I could ask for. He’s always up for riding, even putting up with my slower pace, and we both like riding up and down hills and all around town. He is one of the main reasons why I ride so much and feel so comfortable on the road.

Let's go

5. It’s a small world after all

I don’t think twice about riding up to the Richmond for dinner from SOMA, or popping by Ocean Beach after my train gets in. I don’t find myself having to find the energy to ride anywhere. I just do it. I think a lot of how I view biking around town has to do with my rides with A. If I want to go somewhere, I just go there. I don’t wonder if I am going to make it, or if I’m too tired to get there.

Unless I’m really falling down tired, I can get on my bike and get where I need to be. I am really appreciative of this feeling that I can get anywhere I need to go, as long as I can spare the time needed to get there by bike (which by the way, is usually faster than taking MUNI or driving and parking). I used to think that some places in SF were just too far to bike, or that I wouldn’t be able to find an easy route there, but I’ve found that just by riding more, distance and flatness are less of a consideration when it comes to getting somewhere.

What a great feeling.

Written by Reese

June 4, 2010 at 9:31 am

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ha, who knew this would be one of your loves in your life?! cheers to biking! i just need to do some more of it myself. doh!

    maomau

    June 4, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    • Ya it’s crazy how life winds around yeah? I never thought I’d be where I am right now. Guess that’s the best part of life, that it’s unpredictable like that.

      Reese

      June 5, 2010 at 12:29 pm


Leave a Reply

