a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Honey memories

with 6 comments

I have never been a big fan of honey. I didn’t grow up with it in the house, my mother preferring to use white or brown sugar instead. As an adult, I generally avoided eating honey for whatever insane personal reason (bee puke, not easy to use because it’s so sticky, etc). It’s only recently that I’ve begun to use honey as a preferred sweetener.

I’m not exactly sure what prompted the change, but I’ve noticed that I enjoy looking at the honey jars in the store and finding unusual brands or types. I love that it’s all natural and has that mellow honey flavour to it that I’ve learned to like. It is just so different from plain white sugar, which is just mostly sweet with no distinct secondary flavour.

Honey reminds me very much of my college roommate (we lived in the same room for 4 years, crazy huh?). She would stash a jar of honey on her food shelf and used it all the time. I haven’t actually asked her about it, but I wonder if she’s grown out of the habit of keeping honey around. It was one of the many things I always remember fondly about living with her, watching her stick a spoon into the jar and carefully waiting for the drizzle to thin before capping the bottle again. Even today, when I do the very same action to grab a spoon of honey for my tea, I think about watching her for almost 4 years.

I feel like I’m too far past the point of living with random roommates anymore, other than Frannie of course, and I feel a bit sad about having moved on from that point. Roommates weren’t always fun, but they were always interesting and I secretly liked learning about their personal quirks and lifestyles. I guess I’m just stuck thinking fondly about my past roommates instead. Ah, let’s break out the rose-coloured glasses.

Written by Reese

June 8, 2010 at 12:44 pm

Posted in just life

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. my new preferred sweetener is agave syrup & honey for my grn tea, but mostly agave syrup.

    roommates was a great phase w/drama & stories but now i know i can’t do that for long. maybe a short trip but not for living anymore :/

    maomau

    June 8, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    • Ya, the roommate situation might work if I had my own room, but probably would never live with someone in the same room with me anymore. Ha. Just too set in wanting my own space at this point.

      Reese

      June 14, 2010 at 11:29 am

  2. now you can start trying some different kinds. Splurge for some tupelo honey sometime. It’s insanely good.

    Jeff D

    June 8, 2010 at 10:07 pm

  3. I’ve been doing that for years now. At this point, the sweetener collection of white sugar, molasses, and honey.

    And I’ve been doing the honey-in-tea thing since before college.

    wirehead

    June 11, 2010 at 7:28 am

    • Ha, I’m still not much of a person with a sweet tooth, so it’s still kinda new to use honey and sugar.

      Reese

      June 14, 2010 at 11:30 am


Leave a Reply

