a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Unscathed

with 5 comments

As you may know, I got into a little car-bike accident last Friday. Of course, I didn’t go to hospital or anything because I have this really odd doctor-phobia that doesn’t make any sense. After everyone told me to go to the doctor (Fran, Jason, Al, everyone at work, strangers on the street, etc), it took the holy word from my Ma to finally force me to make an appointment and go.

Ma has clout.

As a result of Ma chiding me for: a) not telling them until Sunday, and b) not going to hospital, I got myself all checked out, much to the relief of Frannie and all my friends. Turns out I fractured my wrist (that Ace bandage wrap was a super good idea on Saturday), but I am otherwise unscathed, though bruised. My knees look like someone took a sledgehammer to them, but the ligaments and tendons are okay and everything is still right where it should be.

I got a number of comments on my “goatee,” and I responded with jokes about how I’ve been trying to grow it out, but I’m asian, so it’s been coming in a little spotty. I also commented that I sure left a dent and a few scratches on that car. Ha, you like how my face looks? You should see the car!!

I am funny.

After the accident, I am glad that I’m not too badly off, and I’m ready to walk/MUNI everywhere for the next two weeks. I thought about just holing up and not seeing anyone for two weeks while I heal up, but we all know that is just not going to happen. Saturday I walked all over SoMa/Union Square and then made a Rainbow run early Sunday morning as soon as I woke up. I will not be stopped. I am an out-and-about person and nothing short of a broken leg is going to stop me from going out. Well, I would probably still go out with a broken leg, but I would just be pitifully slow going anywhere.

Since I’m not on the bike as much, I find myself taking a lot more photos of everything. Ha, this might mean more self-portraits for sure. Depending on what you think of my self-portraits, this is either great news or time for some eye-rolling.

Written by Reese

June 15, 2010 at 9:07 am

Posted in just life

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. In my experience, bruised bits take a few days before they really seize up and hurt. Good you can still move around though. Sounds like a Reese vs. Car = Reese Win.

    How did the Raleigh fare? Is Blue all banged up?

    Take care

    Peter B

    June 15, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    • Yeah, I think I’m going through the hurting process now. Things are definitely sore, and I sleep for 8 hours and still wake up feeling so tired. And yet I am somehow finding the energy to walk everywhere because I don’t want to be stuck at home.

      Ah… I was riding the new Trek, and his front wheel is all messed up. Was going to replace the wheelset at some point anyway. I’ll just be doing it sooner. I’m also really glad the frame is all good!!

      Reese

      June 16, 2010 at 7:41 am

  2. Glad mom forced you to the hospital. Untreated fractures can end up healing in not-so-good ways.

    Jeff D

    June 16, 2010 at 9:24 am

  3. holy crap, dude!!

    carolyn

    June 30, 2010 at 11:11 am


Leave a Reply

