a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: Roller coaster edition

leave a comment »

Phew, what a week. Up and down and up and down! A little good news, a little bad news, but still I’m going to chalk this week up as a win for sure. In the end, things worked out and I’m feeling good about life, unless it’s the prescription drugs talking for me.

1. A little bad news: I fractured my wrist

It means no biking until the 28th. I am counting down the days and readying the bike for my very first ride. I decided that I’m going to use Blue to regain my confidence before I start riding the roadie again. I’m a bit nervous about it, but also excited at the same time.

2. A little good news: I fractured my wrist

And that’s all for the ‘serious’ injuries! Seriously, I am so thankful to have walked away from this accident with only this. I don’t even have a hard cast, just a removable brace that I have to wear all the time. This is very good news.

3. Coy finished the ALC ride

Like a schoolgirl monkey on his back

Big congrats to my friend, Coy, who finished the ALC ride last weekend. He raised a ridiculous amount of money for the cause and he had some great photos to share. I hope he doesn’t mind me linking to his awesome photo essay.

4. I rediscovered my love for pan-fried brussels sprouts

Pan-fried in butter

On weekend nights when Fran has hockey games, sometimes I invite my friend over for ‘home-cooked dinner and a bad movie’ night at my place. The last time, we made pork cutlets braised in red wine, young broccoli stir-fried with garlic, and pan-fried brussels sprouts with carrots and onions. Yummy. Oh, and a loaf of store-bought batard with olive oil.

I love brussels sprouts, and they are a very easy and healthy vegetable dish. I trim off the stem of each sprout and cut them in half. Then melt some butter in a hot skillet, place each sprout with the cut face down, and let them brown until crispy. You can put the lid on to steam them, but if you leave them long enough they’ll cook without the lid too. The important part is to leave them alone until the face is browned and crispy. If you fuss too much, they won’t brown right. When the face is brown, I typically stir the whole thing around and let parts of the back brown a bit too. Yummy.

5. Pretty wall, pretty bike, and my cutiepie

Swimmers

This guy is pretty great. He’s been very helpful with his bike knowledge to move me along on fixing the roadie. Plus, I’m off the bike right now, and he walks everywhere with me, walking his bike too (the one in the photo is actually a borrowed bike). That’s really nice of him, honest. I would so much rather be riding around with him instead, but such is life right now. I’m paying attention to both his, J’s, and Dr. Fran’s orders so I can mend up and get my ass back on the bike. It’s good to have friends who encourage me to get better, even if I am very resistant to their advice.

I really do try to listen to my well-meaning friends in the end, try being the operative word here…

Written by Reese

June 18, 2010 at 10:54 am

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

