a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Almost a year

leave a comment »

A friend recently discovered that he has been biking for exactly a year as of the summer solstice (yesterday). It’s pretty awesome that he has seen such a huge improvement in his bike skills and it makes me really happy to see someone pick up an activity that they truly enjoy and make it an integral part of their lives.

Happier days

Of course, this made me think about my own experiences biking and how much improvement I’ve seen in the past year as well. It’s been almost a year since I started using my bike to get around. I started riding to work in the beginning of July 2009 and I have never looked back. It became my main form of exercise since I didn’t feel like going for a very early morning run or late evening run when I picked up that office job.

I’ve gone from an ill-fitting single-speed mountain bike to an old-fashioned mixte, and finally to a roadie. I also went from not even knowing how to change a tire to being able to do some of the bike maintenance myself. And yes of course there is the physical improvement as well. It’s been a steep learning curve for sure, but a very enjoyable one (almost as enjoyable as that steep slope on Page Street or Arguello heading into the Presidio).

When I first started biking, I don’t know where I thought I’d be in a year. I still don’t have a fancy fresh-from-the-factory bike. I like riding around and seeing the world from under the brim of my helmet, and I’ll use any excuse to ride my bike.

I know that I crashed my bike just over a week ago, and I have just about a week left before I can ride again, but I am so terribly excited for it. I’m taking my time off as a chance to get my bike ready to ride again.

This time next week, I will probably be doing a nice ride (probably solo) to see the ocean. And I’ll try not to crash my bike this time.

Written by Reese

June 22, 2010 at 10:21 am

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

