a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

A brief history in California, part I

with 6 comments

A Brief History, Part I

It’s been almost 3 years since we moved to California. We moved here in July 2007, 4 years after I’d moved to Massachusetts from New York. I can’t believe we’ve lived here so long; it’s almost like we just arrived really.

A lot has changed in these three brief years here in California. I’ve changed physically, taken up new hobbies, picked up new people while simultaneously dropping a few friends here and there. I’m moderately content with my life right now, of course with the exception of a few things (nothing is perfect, right?), but I’m not going to get into those imperfect parts of life. Why focus on the bad when you can see what’s good and positive instead. It’s a lot more constructive if you think about it.

That photo up there was taken in 2008, when I had started taking a photography class at De Anza College. I don’t exactly know what I was doing with my life, but I took a couple years off working in engineering to "find myself" and generally be a slacker. I think a lot of people thought I was busy being a degenerate loser, but for the most part, I think it was helpful because it let me do something other than school/work for a short time.

The best thing about this time was that I picked up running and started losing weight and caring about my body. Before then, I had just resigned myself to being the fat girl, and I always knew that I would never be fast or strong and I was just a happy fat girl. Ah, happy times, really. Of course, now I realise that being overweight wasn’t good for me, and that I should really try to be fit and healthy instead. Besides that, I look way better in clothes these days, and I can move more easily with a lot more energy than before.

About the time that photo was taken, I weighed 15 pounds more than I do now. I was pretty close to my current weight, but I was also still much bigger. I still have that jacket that I am wearing in the photo and it is much larger on me than it was back then. I remember that jacket being a pretty tight fit at the time.

I don’t recall having many friends at the time, except for people from my photo group and the occasional friend from classes. I do remember feeling quite lonely and wishing that I knew more people, but not quite knowing how to get out to meet them. I clung desperately to Franny, but of course he didn’t want me whining about when he was coming home when he had work to do.

It made me feel really pathetic.

Written by Reese

June 28, 2010 at 4:29 pm

Posted in just life

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. the fact that you now focus more on the good than the bad (and that you’re more active now than before) is a sign that you’ve moved on from the east coast mentality. i certainly have!

    i moved to CA in ’07 as well and i’ve noticed similar changes with myself. great post! stay gold!

    jack

    June 28, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    • Yes, focusing on positive instead of negative is really good for everyone I think. Wallowing only seems to make things worse. Haha… stay gold!!

      Reese

      June 28, 2010 at 7:05 pm

  2. You might have felt that way but none of us every saw it.

    In any case, that phase is long gone!

    Jeff D

    June 28, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    • Yes long gone I think! Of course, I am not perfect or anything and I get back to that feeling sometimes again, but I remind myself of all the people out there that I love and it goes right away.

      Reese

      June 28, 2010 at 7:06 pm

  3. cool post. health is so much more than just physical, but so often our physical health determines our mental and emotional health.

    and feeling and looking hot always helps.

    thoreauly77

    June 28, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    • Thanks, Ian! I think looking hot and liking what you see in the mirror makes a big difference when you’re feeling not so great. Hahaha…

      Reese

      June 28, 2010 at 7:06 pm


Leave a Reply

