a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

A brief history in California, part III

with 4 comments

January 2008

So we backtrack a little bit to January 2008. I haven’t yet started taking photography classes yet, but Fran has bought me a Hasselblad from a coworker who wants it to go to a good home. I’ve never shot medium format before, so I waste a roll learning how to load the camera and I use my digital SLR to meter for me. I don’t know how to develop black and white film yet, so I slowly work my way through the 20 or so rolls of colour film that Fran’s coworker included with the camera (and ALL the accessories). I become good friends with Henry at the lab and he knows me as the girl with the Hasselblad. I swear off 35mm film and begin only shooting medium format. I think it makes me more of an artist, but really I just like how it slows me down and makes me think more about composing each shot.

I remember being very excited about not having a job at this point. I miss my friends in Boston intensely and we text each other often with random photos of what we’re up to and also short messages of… uh… snark. (We were never really the encouraging types.) Fran and I are living in a giant apartment complex and I hate every moment of it, but I do relish the fact that we finally have laundry right in the flat with us instead of in the basement that is down 3 flights of stairs. The cat adjusts well, especially since I am home all day and she gets to spend a lot of time with me and in sunny windowsills. She seems happy in California, which pleases me greatly.

Fran and I take trips to random places that I have never even heard of before, like Half Moon Bay. I wonder quietly to myself why it’s called that, for the shape of the bay from above or if the view of the moon is wonderfully fog-free from there. Everything is so new and I want to go everywhere and try everything. I somehow manage to retain this feeling of excitement even into the present day, but the radius of our travels has enlarged somewhat since we’ve been to most places that are nearby.

I go to the gym everyday and run 3 miles on the treadmill at a moderate pace while watching whatever is on TV. Most days I will be there alone, so I turn off the TV and listen to my music instead. I find the TV incredibly boring, especially in the middle of the afternoon. I think it’s a depressing reminder that I am home in the middle of the day and not at work like everyone else, but I very much enjoy the ability to go for a run whenever I want.

Written by Reese

July 1, 2010 at 6:42 am

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Who’s full of snark?! We were always sooooo encouraging. I don’t know WHAT you’re talking about. 😛

    But I miss you!!! Even if you seem happy in CA now and may never come back… *sniff*

    joygoddess

    July 1, 2010 at 11:36 am

    • Aww.. I miss you too snarky.. uh… encouraging friend! And yes…… every time I think about pitchers of beer, I totally think about hanging out with you!

      Reese

      July 5, 2010 at 9:48 am

  2. I think I’ve mastered the technique of snarky encouragement. Or encouraging, then being snarky afterwards. Or maybe the reverse.

    Jeff D

    July 1, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    • Hahaha… snarky encouragement. It’s pretty awesome.

      Reese

      July 5, 2010 at 9:49 am


Leave a Reply

