a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: A lovely bikey week

leave a comment »

Yes, I have been massively afflicted with the bikey life and it shows.

1. The weekend ride
My friend C organised a bike ride up to Fairfax this past weekend and it was pretty great. Such a good chance to leisurely ride up and chat with friends. Then a simple dinner at home with a friend. What a great way to spend a day.

2. This much closer to riding the Trek again
I ordered and received the new wheelset and finally got the gear cassette in order and bought a new tire for the rear. Last night, I tried to mount the rear tire on, but unfortunately I pinched the tube and didn’t have another tube to pop in instead. Today I’ll go to a bike shop to get a replacement tube and then I’ll try again tonight.

3. Bike commuting with J
After a not-so-positive experience on a long bike ride with me, my friend J seems to be warming back up to biking again. He’s been commuting with me 3 out of his 4 workdays this week, so it’s nice to chat on the train in the mornings. It really makes me so happy that he’s giving it a shot and enjoying it! I hope he keeps it up and continues finding it more and more enjoyable.

4. Buttery friends
This past week was my second time riding with the Butterlap crew on Wednesday night. I really enjoy this ride because it’s hill-filled and fun, and not too difficult. It makes me feel good at my fitness level too, since the hills don’t kill me. Plus, I’ve been meeting more and more great people on the ride.

5. Helpful friends
I managed to convince my friend to help me with my bike in exchange for a home-cooked meal this week. I still don’t have the bike quite ready to ride, but it’s that much closer and it’s nice to have friends who are willing to help me out in exchange for experimental cooking (brand new recipe I’ve never tried before). He changed out my tire and tube for me (menial labour I can do myself, but I’d rather cook instead) and loved and complimented the dinner I made. That was icing on the cake.

Written by Reese

July 16, 2010 at 10:01 am

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

