a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: The search for inner peace

with one comment

I’ve noticed a trend in my recent reading material; I’ve been reading a lot of books about people searching for spiritual enlightenment. I don’t exactly know why I feel like I need to read these books right now, but they do feel very appropriate. It feels so corny, but I do need to find some kind of peace with some parts of my past. The problem is that, for the most part, I’m afraid of resolving them. I feel like I need to retain these experiences as a part of me and that if I resolve them, then do they go away and I start to lose a critical part of my identity? I know it doesn’t really work like that, but it sure feels like I would be wiped clean and then what? Can I still exist without my past? Can I still define myself if I let go of what’s happened? Do I need to define myself? Can I just accept that I simply am?

But enough of these open-ended questions that only I can answer. Let’s get straight to my weekly list. I don’t know that I have any wisdom to impart, but here are 5 statements I’ve been telling myself recently in an effort to find some kind of inner (albeit temporary) peace.

1. Peace is attainable if you allow yourself to find it.

2. Different methods work for different people. Don’t scoff at the path others choose and don’t let anyone scoff at your own path.

3. You are responsible for yourself. Other may affect you, but you ultimately control your life.

4. Balance is crucial.

5. Love, of others and of yourself, is essential. Most importantly, love yourself and remember that you are loved.

Written by Reese

August 6, 2010 at 9:53 am

Posted in just life

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. no real comment other than to agree. Those five things will get you a long way if you can pull them off.

    Jeff D

    August 8, 2010 at 5:45 pm


Leave a Reply

