a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

One hill at a time

with 2 comments

Since moving up to SF, I’ve been slowly trying to acclimate myself to the hills around. They’re really not so bad if you know the right way around and you’re in the right mindset. When I see a series of hills ahead of me (each steeper than the block before it of course), I just take them one hill at a time. You can’t look too far ahead, or it’s demoralizing, but at the same time, you can’t think of each block separately because then you might not be able to pace yourself correctly to make it up the whole set.

It’s hard balancing this stuff out.

I used to be much more cautious when it came to hills, always reserving energy and going very very slowly, but lately I’ve been feeling more confident and much stronger, so I’ve been climbing them more quickly and efficiently. I’ve found that it’s all about keeping up some kind of rhythm and keeping an upbeat attitude about it. It’s tougher to succeed at this if you go into thinking that there’s no way you can make it up the hill. It’s also about understanding your body and listening to it. You have to know when to slow down because your legs are going to be rubbery in a few minutes if you keep it up.

Well, it’s just about getting up there, one hill at a time.

Tonight I head up Twin peaks. Wish me luck!

Written by Reese

August 12, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. at least you get to rest a little on the downhills.

    Jeff D

    August 12, 2010 at 8:58 pm


Leave a Reply

