a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: The week in review

with 2 comments

I’ve had a stellar week, guys. Really, it’s been pretty amazing. I’ve had my same old routine, but had a few very nice firsts that have put a wide, toothy smile on my silly little face.

Really.

I cannot complain about my life. I really can’t. Life is good, life is amazing. This week has shown me how to embrace what I have.

1. Practising being alone

Not only am I an an incorrigible extrovert, but I am also somewhat co-dependent on people. Knowing this is in my nature, I’ve been practising being alone, learning to understand how to be by myself. I am slowly learning that solitude is not something to be afraid of. It’s difficult, and I really want to be with people most of the time, but I’ve completely run myself ragged the past month or so and I really do need the downtime.

Hey, I even managed to go to a restaurant and eat alone this week. Big deal for me. And I didn’t even resort to being on my phone the entire time. I actually sat by myself and just ate my food like a normal person.

(Also, I completely love this .)

2. Checking things off

I have a list of rides that I would like to do around the bay area. I didn’t used to have a list, but now I do (go figure). One of them was to ride up to Twin Peaks, so that’s exactly what I did yesterday, and solo too (see number 1 above). There was an incredible amount of fog and it was so cold that I could barely get my gloves on when I was up there, but it was worth it. I felt like I conquered something big.

Oh, and the ride down was way scarier than the ride up into the fog. I rode the brakes almost the entire way down and slowed to let cars pass me so they didn’t ride my ass for the entirety. But man… so worth it.

3. Disconnecting ever so slightly

I love my mobile phone. I really do. And yet, I’m trying to reduce my dependency on being so connected all the time. When I’m at home, I have a laptop that has internet. When I am on the train, I have a phone with MobileWeb. When I get to work, I have a computer that is hooked up online. I am so connected it’s sickening.

Reflecting on that a bit, I started to ask myself why I needed to use my phone between home and work? I spend just over an hour commuting everyday, between the bike ride to the station, the train ride, and the bike ride to work (the sweetest 20 minutes of my morning). On the train, I used to catch myself reaching for my phone to check my email (as if an important email has somehow arrived), but lately I’ve made more of an effort to stop myself from doing that. I really don’t need to be so goddamn connected all the time.

Besides, I’d rather knit or read on the train or chat with my commute friends instead.

4. New territory, new people

I did a ride out in east bay this past weekend and got to meet a bunch of bikey folk that I mainly know online. I really love exploring a new area, and east bay by bike is the new frontier for me. I haven’t lived there since college, and I didn’t have a bike at the time and didn’t really out so much either (other than taking the bus to SF sometimes). I was much less of an explorer back in college.

Riding around with a group in Oakland really reminded me that there are lots of new places to explore. I’ve never been one to resort to the comfort zone, so I’m really quite excited to go there and explore more. And hey, I can combine this with my introvert project and do this alone too.

5. Love and life

Ah life. I really can’t express how lovely this past week has been. I’m so happy beyond words. I feel loved and treasured by the ones I love and treasure. There are new people in my life that I am excited to get to know more. There are old friends that are just so easy to talk to. I’m getting to know myself more, and to understand my own inner workings. I’ve been riding my bike with a giant smile plastered on my face, sometimes singing aloud to myself. I feel carefree and amazing.

Written by Reese

August 13, 2010 at 11:00 am

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reesie! So, I have just found your comment on my lame attempt at a blog out here and I was scrolling through and I found this entry with the youtube “How to Be Alone” video, which I had also discovered about a week ago and which makes me go “Wow!” So, I miss you out on 43Things (I am in and out over there, more “in” recently.) And I have missed your photos. I will never forget that one of the blue/green/brown rusted iron work. One of my all time favorites ever anywhere! I will stop by and visit your blog every now and again! Great to find you out here in the world beyond.
    Sessygail aka Leslie

    Sessygail

    September 5, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    • Hey Leslie! Glad to hear from you! Hope you are doing well.

      Reese

      September 8, 2010 at 5:27 pm


Leave a Reply

