a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: Food, Friends, and Fun

with 6 comments

1. Hot hot heat

No, not the band… I’m talking about Sichuan food, especially the hot and spicy, mouth-numbing dishes that make me so happy. I was feeling the need for some tasty Sichuan food, so we headed to East Bay for a visit to China Village. We had the water-cooked fish which was perfectly spicy and tongue-numbing thanks for a healthy dose of red pepper oil and peppercorns.

What I really wanted, though, was some really good spicy beef tendon. This place was alright, but just not hitting the spot. They put a lot of coarsely crushed black peppercorn, which made it really gritty to eat. Ugh. Otherwise, the flavour was really good, but I’m still in search of good spicy beef tendon that doesn’t have the texture of sand.

2. Reconnecting with friends

Ah, got back in touch with a couple friends this week and that’s always a good thing.

3. Lovely bike rides

I have not been doing longer rides as often as I’d like this week due to a bit of pain in my right knee, but I did have a very nice weekend ride, and I’ve planned another nice weekend ride for Sunday morning. I’m hoping to do another Skyline ride to Palo Alto and to get it done faster this time. Google maps says that the route I take is 42 miles and should take me 4:38, but I’m thinking it should be more like 3:30. I spent quite a while getting lost and doubling back last time, so this time I will be better prepared and try to get the ride done faster. If I leave SF early enough, then I can get back in time for a photo social in the Mission.

4. Going it alone

Truth be told, I am quite enjoying learning to be alone. So far this week I’ve managed to eat alone in public at a restaurant, do a long solo bike ride, and also spend some quiet time with myself at various points in the week. As much as I love people and it makes me nervous to not be around others, at the same time, it’s been nice learning that I am actually okay with being alone sometimes. Ha. I won’t become a hermit anytime soon, but it’s been a good exercise for myself. People are great, but I find myself so frustrated with flaky friends that it’s been better to learn how to do what I want alone instead of depending on a friend to go out with me.

5. F5 or Apple-R

I need to refresh my interest in activities other than riding my bike. A friend recently asked me how my weekend was and said something like, "Let me guess, a nice bike ride?" I know that I’m pretty stuck on this bike riding bit, so maybe it’s time to try balancing that stuff out with a few other activities. I’ve been knitting a lot on the train and have been recently looking into finding a knitting group to join up in SF after work. It’d be really nice to find a knitting group again just to have another venue for making friends with a common hobby. I’ve also been thinking about taking some kind of language class so I can brush up on my French or learn a new language. Or maybe get back into doing more photography. Or maybe take a cooking class or a woodshop class. Or plan a big trip somewhere. Hmm… Yes, time to rethink my leisure activities and make sure I’m a well-rounded individual.

Written by Reese

August 20, 2010 at 10:36 am

Posted in just life

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fiery food is great. I went to Buff’s with some friends last Sunday and got some wings that were almost too much. It turned into a battle of wills but we conquered the wings and ate them all.

    Jeff D

    August 20, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    • HAHAHA… As long as you won, that’s all that matters!!

      Reese

      August 22, 2010 at 8:15 pm

  2. You know where to go for spicy beef tendon… just sayin’… 😉

    joygoddess

    August 22, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    • So so true…. We found a place that is close, but no cigar. Lao Sichuan is still the best (at least in my memory). And I’ll never forget bringing you guys there with everyone sweating, except Danpon who was just saying, “Hey is this supposed to be spicy?” and eating crushed red peppers by the handful. Wackjob!!

      Reese

      August 22, 2010 at 8:15 pm

  3. That place in Framingham did a pretty good job is I remember right.

    Funny, I was explaining to my friend’s wife that while she could simply stop eating the wings and admit defeat that this was not an option for her husband and I. Just a guy thing (which she thought was insane, of course.)

    Jeff D

    August 22, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    • Ya… Lao Sichuan still has the best spicy beef tendon I’ve had.

      HAHA… yeah guys and their ego…

      Reese

      August 22, 2010 at 8:38 pm


Leave a Reply

