a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Damn hippie kitchen

with one comment

Moving to California has changed me.

I exercise regularly and maintain a healthy weight. I have resorted to using castile soap pretty exclusively, except for washing my hair, which I only wash my hair once a week to promote the production of healthy oils and good scalp health. At one point, we shopped at the farmer’s market exclusively for vegetables, but it’s fallen down the priority list and we have been shopping pretty much everywhere for fresh vegetables and fruit instead. We try to cut back on eating a lot of packaged food and end up with lots of fresh food that we have to cook ourselves.

If you come over and peek in the fridge, don’t expect to see frozen meals. The fridge mostly contains jars of stuff (ketchup, mustard, peanut butter, jam, hot sauce, etc), possibly some large bottles of sparkling water, some leftover takeaway containers, and a lot of fresh vegetables.

We also have a lot of dry goods, like grains and pasta. I pour them out into random jars that I save and line them up on the shelf, hopefully remembering which is which because I never label anything. The good news is that a lot of grains have a unique look to them. The bad news is that you still need to keep that straight. I am almost positive at one point that I will decide that the fat jar with the black lid holds bulgur, when it really is full of barley or farro or something like that, and I’ll be woefully ignorant (yet again).

Have I told you guys about that one time I made catnip omelettes for my friends? I was completely convinced that the catnip was actually basil since I have almost no skill in differentiating plants and wasn’t sure what basil really smelled like.

(Yes I know, how could I not know what basil smells/tastes like? Oh come on now.. I get confused quite easily… Besides, my detective skills sucked and it did not occur to me to smell my jar of dried basil to help determine which plant was which.)

(I now know what basil plants smell and look like now, just so you know.)

But anyway, back to the grains.

My latest obsession: barley. I’ve been adding it to beef soups and just recently learned that cooking it in the rice cooker is insanely convenient and easy. Plus, it’s really easy to set the rice cooker on a timer and wake up to a pot of fully cooked whatever-grain. (If you don’t have a fancy cooker with a timer, you could just hit the button when you first get up in the mornings.)

Right before leaving, I scoop some into a microwaveable lunch container, pour some frozen vegetables on top (I like using spinach or that lima bean/corn/peas mix), drizzle the whole thing with some olive oil, and season with salt and pepper. Sometimes I also put a bit of hot sauce in there too. If I have any leftover food from the night before, I’ll just throw that in the container instead. It’s definitely a nice change from my regular (rather pathetic) PB&J sandwich.

Written by Reese

September 15, 2010 at 1:20 pm

Posted in just life

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Catnip omelet! 🙂

    My son’s been on a barley kick lately as well. I’m kind of meh on it personally.

    Richard Masoner

    September 15, 2010 at 1:55 pm


Leave a Reply

