a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

The secret entries

leave a comment »

I have something to admit to you guys.

(Or should I have written, "I have to admit something to you guys"?)

I write a lot of entries, but maybe only half of them actually get published on my blog.

So why don’t I publish everything I write? The reason is mostly because I’ll write and entry complaining about something and by the time I finish writing, re-reading, and editing it, I go to hit the send button and realise that no one wants to read (yet) another whiny entry from me. Seriously, I get all worked up over a lot of random stuff in life, and I use writing as my outlet to get my (lame first-world) frustrations out. The good news is that I realise that just because I need to rant and rave about something does not mean I really need to share this with the world.

The process goes something like this:

  1. Get riled up over something stupid
  2. Write scathing blog entry in email client
  3. Re-read and edit said blog entry
  4. Ask self: Is this whiny, non-constructive, or just plain stupid?
  5. If it is –> Save as Draft. If not –> Send.

That said, I have a number of (really quite lame) fully finished entries that have not made it to the blog. They sit in my Draft folder until I get fed up and delete them.

In fact, I’ve recently written unpublishable entries on various topics such as:

  • Inane people who can’t think for themselves,
  • How to know if you’re drinking enough water,
  • The really terrible mashup of 3 different leftover dishes I had for lunch (it worked somehow),
  • Stalkers and awkward moments,
  • Boys who can’t handle just being friends with a girl,
  • And finally, people who are into status and image (see first bullet point)

So for any normal personal blogger, these are all topics that are just as viable as, say, writing about what kind of pen they really like. The nice thing about personal blogging is that you can write whatever the heck you want on your blog. Unless you’re internet famous, a whole lot of people won’t even read whatever drivel you are spewing all over your blog.

(Well, your current/future employer might, so you might not want to mention how you were toking up in the loo that one time to help you relax before that big presentation. Bad idea, kiddo.)

(FYI, I have never done that.)

Sometimes I wish I didn’t so carefully edit myself on my blog, but at the same time, I know it’s a good thing because this stuff is really public. I guess you won’t get to read about awkward family conversations, my thoughts on the futility of how overly zealous pro-environment folks are really turning off the rest of us "normal" folk, or my disdain for people who buy into the hype of the latest trend and waste money trying to up their status.

On second thought, that’s probably a good thing.

Written by Reese

September 16, 2010 at 2:10 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

