a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,699

leave a comment »

I was discussing self-confidence with a friend today and I mentioned to him that, while I may be modest at times, I have a pretty healthy ego. While I am definitely not big-headed about myself, I do have a quite realistic view. Well maybe it’s a bit on the optimistic side, but I think that’s a good thing when it comes to self-image.

No matter what your life is like, it’s important to be proud of yourself, be it your accomplishments, appearance, mental acuity, physical abilities, etc. Your mom was probably right: you’re pretty awesome. (This assumes that your mom is your #1 fan; my mom totally thinks I am smart, pretty, and downright awesome.)

I don’t go around bragging to people about my life, but I do think it’s pretty darned awesome. If I didn’t think my life was going pretty well, I’d really have to wonder why I wasn’t working to make it awesome. I don’t know if it’s so much as being satisfied with what you have, as much as making realistic goals about what you want out of life working towards those goals.

And just because I’m happy with my life now doesn’t mean I don’t have goals that I’m working towards. In the next few years, I am very interested in moving to a new area, changing jobs, and making new friends. Sometimes I get the feeling that because I usually have my eye on the "next place" I think it might scare some of my current friends because they know that it’s only a matter of time before I sail out of their lives. I just hope that people understand that I never want to get rid of friends when we move, and that we don’t move because we hate the current place. Most times, we love where we live right now, but we also love exploring new places. The way I see it, we can always move back to places we’ve lived before.

Hopefully wherever we live next, there will be a good local biking infrastructure, but if not, I’ll probably try to make it work. I’m really interested in keeping with this hobby since I find it really entertaining and it puts a smile on my face. The thing is, even if I can’t make biking work wherever we go next, I’m almost positive I’ll find some other fun activity instead to fill the void. Ha.

Written by Reese

September 22, 2010 at 4:06 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

