a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,703: The week’s baking

with one comment

I’m not sure why, but I’ve been into baking and cooking again. I experimented with cooking rice noodles and have been picking through the baking blogs for recipes that wouldn’t require getting out the stand mixer or another trip to the store to get ingredients I would only use once.

One recipe I was interested in was for an olive oil cake, but I wasn’t so pleased with how it came out. The texture was a bit too oily, but the taste was decent. I don’t think I would use the same recipe again. Luckily, I found a bunch of other recipes for olive oil cake that include lemon or orange rinds, so I’ll probably use one of those next time and see how it turns out. Anyway, at least it looked really pretty!

Olive oil cake

I had three bananas that were heavily spotted and much too ripe for eating raw. Being the type who hates to throw away food unless it’s growing mold, I decided to bake some banana bread. A quick internet search of blog recipes yielded a recipe for jacked-up banana bread over at Smitten Kitchen.

Wow.

This recipe turned out really nicely and I am so very happy. By the way, I used the lesser amount of brown sugar (3/4 cup instead of 1 cup) and it turned out with the perfect amount of sweetness for me. I will definitely do this recipe again.

Banana bread

Written by Reese

September 27, 2010 at 6:55 am

Posted in just life

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mmmmm… bourbon!

    Rhianna

    September 27, 2010 at 8:06 am


Leave a Reply

