a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,706

with 2 comments

Blown to pieces

[Self-portrait with strangers]

After three weeks, I finally went to hospital to check on my knee and make sure everything was just fine. My doctor continues to be friendly and somewhat competent, but he strikes me as someone who is also a bit clueless. Maybe it’s because he’s young, but I think it has a lot more to do with the way he carries himself than his actual intelligence. It’s difficult to explain.

Usually this doesn’t bother me in a doctor because I don’t visit them often and when I do, it’s usually for a very routine visit (full bloodwork and all other vital statistics). I don’t often have physical issues, but lately with a few bike-related injuries, I’ve been feeling less healthy than than usual.

Having lived the first 30 years of my life as a robust, vigorously healthy person, year 31 has really sucked physically. I had some running-related knee damage, fell off my bike a few times, and have dealt with a few long term aches and pains that simply won’t go away. Maybe I just need to learn my limits, or maybe I’m getting older and I can’t recover as quickly as I’m used to, but either way, it really sucks.

I don’t mean to complain or anything, but I would just like to go back to feeling relatively fit again where I could run to catch a train or I could take a random route home and ride up whatever hills are along the way. Right now I’m not able to do either of those things, and it makes me feel pretty un-fit.

This past summer, I meant to get back into doing a little weekend running, but the current state of things isn’t allowing that. I would really like this coming year to have less accidents and injuries and more time spent feeling fit and healthy. Hopefully a little physical therapy will fix me right up.

Written by Reese

September 29, 2010 at 10:28 am

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah my knees are way to screwed up to run. I’ve always hated it. I screwed my knee up this year in a stupid needless wreck, but it’s finally starting to feel better after months of pain and stiffness. Getting older sucks, especially because I hope to be on the bike well into my old age. :/

    kit

    September 29, 2010 at 10:57 am

    • I’m hoping that biking will be the answer to staying fit as I get older too (besides, it’s super fun to boot!!). I wish I could run more, but I’d rather not tempt fate and potentially mangle my knee. It’s already plenty crunchy as it is!

      Reese

      September 30, 2010 at 8:39 pm


Leave a Reply

