a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,712: Oh definitely the Second Circle

with 4 comments

I was going to write some inane blog about how I can be an inconsiderate jerk to some of my friends (within reason of course), but ended up researching the circles of hell as determined by Dante Alighieri (no really, don’t ask).

Even though my mostly public school education in New Jersey was decently thorough, we never did read Dante’s Divine Comedy in English class. I’d heard about it, but never had the ambition to read it on my own. Perhaps at some point, I’ll find it for $1-2 at a thrift store and finally get around to reading it.

[By the way, I get almost all of my non-library literature at the thrift store and usually refuse to pay more than $2 per book. I'm cheap like that, since I end up giving books away to others when I finish or donating them to the library. Besides that, I think owning new books is a luxury I won't allow for myself right now since we need to move these books fairly often as we change flats. The current ramshackle set of books we haul from place to place were either purchased new back before I knew better, were brought home from the thrift store, or were a gift.]

Anyway, back to the Divine Comedy. According to Wiki, there are 9 circles of Hell (This word is capitalized! I had no idea.) and they are as follows:

  • First Circle (Limbo)
  • Second Circle (Lust)
  • Third Circle (Gluttony)
  • Fourth Circle (Avarice and Prodigality)
  • Fifth Circle (Wrath and Sullenness)
  • Sixth Circle (Heresy)
  • Seventh Circle (Violence)
  • Eighth Circle (Fraud)
  • Ninth Circle (Treachery)

I’m not really sure why, but I was wondering to myself, if I was to head to Dante’s Hell, which Circle might I end up in? I have partaken in most of these sins at some point or another and probably will partake in all of them before my death, so how do they decide which Circle the sinners go in? I suppose that it’s your most blatent type of sin that determines which Circle you end up in.

I suppose that even though I don’t act on it, I might end up in the Second Circle (Lust). Hmm… is it still a trespass, even if it only happens in your mind? Is it? I guess it depends. Maybe wanting something is almost the same as having it, even if you don’t actually partake. At the same time, it’s not like I am really wanting a whole different life with someone else. I definitely want to be with the Mister in the long run; he is most definitely the one I don’t mind being stuck with for life.

But can you really blame a girl for looking? Damn the cute boys with their lopsided mischievous grins and tight pants. They get me every damned time.

Written by Reese

October 5, 2010 at 10:52 am

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. His “La Vita Nuova” should be required reading for anyone who ever writes anything. Ever.

    It’s short, but difficult. And required.

    Paul

    October 5, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    • I’ll look for it.

      Reese

      October 5, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      • If you can’t find it, and I ever actually see you again, I’ll loan it to you.

        Paul

        October 6, 2010 at 12:50 pm

  2. God damn you half Japanese girls….do it to me every time.

    Jeff D

    October 6, 2010 at 10:38 am


Leave a Reply

