a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,714 Shedding the Unnecessary

leave a comment »

I am not the type to do the nesting thing. I hate to buy furniture or decorative trinkets or throw pillows to make life cozy. Our place is rather spare, and most of our stuff is still packed away in boxes from the last move (really, I need to work on fixing that).

If I could throw away the majority of our unnecessary belongings (mostly consisting of seldom used technical textbooks, sentimental crap, and empty notebooks), I would. However, I suppose that I can be a bit of a hoarder when it comes to the useless stuff, so that explains a lot of why we don’t throw everything away. Besides that, Mister is not so keen on throwing everything away.

And so, we move our crap from place to place. Sometimes the place will have built-in shelves and the books will get to breathe a bit. Usually, they stay in piles on the floor wherever there is space. It’s not clean and makes our place look cluttered, but then we are not really the minimalistic types.

We don’t really have an interior design style at all, to tell the truth. I wish we could pull it together, but I simply don’t care enough to work at it.

One of these weekends, I’m going to go through these boxes of stuff and just throw a lot of it away or toss it in the car to donate to the Salvation Army. I don’t really need all these fiction books (except for the few that I read and re-read), and I don’t really need all this camera gear that I never use.

My life is feeling cluttered by material goods, so maybe it’s about time that I cleared some of it out, at least to the point where I feel better about it.

Written by Reese

October 7, 2010 at 9:14 am

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

