a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Five on Friday: The Good Life

leave a comment »

Yes, I good life indeed. I really don’t have much going terribly wrong (but if I did, I’d probably find some way to see it in a positive light). Being an optimist is pretty damned great, even if it means that people think I’m blinding myself to the ugliness in life. It’s not that I deny that life can be ugly, it’s more that I choose to emphasize the beautiful side instead. If you know me, you know I’m definitely not one of those sappy, always smiling, seemingly empty-headed girls. I’d call myself an optimist with healthy dose of realism and science.

1. What are the chances

I don’t often check my email or Twitter during my train ride, but yesterday I decided to pull up Twitter on my phone. Lo and behold, a friend mentioned that he was bikeless on the bikecar, so I immediately texted him and we figured out we were both on the same train, but different bike cars. He came down to my bike car and we hung out for a little bit.

Man, I love it when events coincide and something pleasant happen!

2. Setbacks are not necessarily a bad thing

I am slowly learning that just because something negative happens in my life, it’s not necessarily a bad thing. I usually learn something from each experience, and it really does help me appreciate the good times more when I’ve worked hard for them.

3. Sometimes it’s good to just let it go

I’ve been trying to take a more relaxed attitude towards certain situations, and it’s been working out a bit better than my usual method of freaking out, taking things personally, and getting upset. Maybe I’m becoming more Californian, or maybe I’m mellowing a little bit as I get older, or maybe I’m finally learning patience. Or whatever. I don’t really care, as long as I’m not taking things so effing personally anymore. Life moves quickly; I can’t spend my time being upset over stuff that doesn’t really matter in the long run.

And the last two are just plain goofy:

4. Bananadog

https://i2.wp.com/img.photobucket.com/albums/v229/liquidwith/Bananadog.jpg

5. Chickencat

https://i0.wp.com/img.photobucket.com/albums/v229/liquidwith/ChickenCat.jpg

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

Written by Reese

October 8, 2010 at 9:41 am

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

