a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,718 Natto and salmonella

leave a comment »

I’ve been eating the occasional package of natto for breakfast. Most times, it’s just plain and mixed well with the two included sauce packets. Recently, I thought to actually prepare myself and buy some scallions. We even happen to have eggs in the fridge, so I can mix in a chopped scallion and a raw egg with my natto. It is a super-healthy protein-heavy breakfast and it does manage to keep me full for longer than you’d think, just based on the volume alone.

Oh wait, let’s rewind that a bit. A raw egg?

Yeah you heard me: a raw egg.

Before you start telling me about how scary salmonella is, I will first say that as a relatively healthy adult individual, I am not really afraid of contracting salmonella. I don’t really understand why people freak out over salmonella so much. For the regular, average, healthy individual, you will simply get food poisoning, which of course can vary from just slight stomach upset to full on diarrhea and vomiting. While food poisoning may be horribly inconvenient, it is not necessarily life-threatening (for the average healthy individual).

I’ve only had food poisoning maybe twice in my life, so perhaps this is why I’m not afraid of getting it. I suppose that if I was getting it all the time, I’d be much more careful, but as it is, statistically speaking, I’m pretty safe from the adverse effects and my digestive tract is pretty good at killing bad organisms that are trying their best to muck things up.

But anyway, back to the raw egg. I recently learned that there is such a thing as "pasteurized eggs" sold at the store for those who like to make mayonnaise or eat raw eggs and are afraid of getting salmonella. Crazy huh? Wow…

Being that we try not to eat overly processed foods, I have never been interested in trying these pasteurized eggs, so I don’t know if there’s a difference in the taste or not. Hmm… interesting idea though.

Written by Reese

October 11, 2010 at 12:15 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

