a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,720 Releasing books into the wild

leave a comment »

I recently finished Cormac McCarthy’s The Road. It’s been accompanying me everyday to and from work. Since my headphones catastrophically failed last week (or maybe two weeks ago), I have been quickly blowing through books on the morning and evening train rides along the peninsula. The Road is the most recent casualty.

It was a decent book, but I did not really think it was all that awesome. If I can find No Country for Old Men then I’ll try that one next to see if McCarthy just isn’t my kind of writer.

As soon as I finished the book, I took out my pen and wrote "FREE" on the book and left it on the overhead luggage rack on the train. I’m not sure if anyone will pick it up and keep it or not, but just figured I would set it free. I used to put a little post-it note on books I had finished and leave them in cafes or outside stores in the hopes that someone out there might pick up the free book and read it. Hopefully they might even enjoy it and it keeps my book collection trimmer at home.

I get the vast majority of my reading at the thrift store anyway, so it’s not like I’m shelling out bucks for first edition copies or anything. Might as well share them with a stranger if I have the chance.

Written by Reese

October 13, 2010 at 3:15 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

