a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,721 Flaming cotton ball clouds

with one comment

Just about every morning, I take the train to work. I load my bike on with me, carefully keeping an eye on her to make sure no one is gouging her with their bikes. Most of the time, however, I am busy watching the scenery go by, or reading my book. I used to listen to music, but I haven’t gotten around to buying new headphones yet, so there’s no music to be had.

Good morning

This is the view from the train just after leaving the terminal and before arriving at the 22nd Street Station. Don’t mind those two weird reflections on the right-hand side of the photo. That’s from the lights inside the train reflecting on the glass of the window. I try to avoid those, but it’s tough.

I feel fortunate to be able to focus on how nice it is to ride the train and then ride my bike everyday. It seems that some of the people I run into during my commute aren’t so fortunate and are pretty crochety. In particular, I ride down the Ellen Fletcher Bike Boulevard in Palo Alto and run into a couple other crochety bike commuters going the same direction as I. One of them is an older man who yells at other bikes who don’t stop at stop signs. The other is a spandex-clad roadie who always blows past me and then refuses to acknowledge my presence while we’re waiting at the light at Bryant and Oregon Expressway. Seriously, I stand right next to him and sometimes STARE right at him, but he ignores me completely. Maybe I’m creepy because I am trying to say "good morning" or maybe he’s just an anti-social loser who doesn’t know how to say hello to someone else and is so focused on winning the commute race that he doesn’t have time to acknowledge someone else.

For the record, I usually turn around and say hi to other people why I’m waiting at the light, and for the most part, other people do the same if you roll up behind them. Oh, the crochety yelling guy also refsues to acknowledge my existence at that same stop light when we are stuck there together. Is it really so difficult to say hello to someone else, or even just do the nod?

Who knows why these people are unfriendly. I go around assuming people are generally in a good mood, but I clearly see that is not the case with most. Hmm… I guess that’s just how people are.

Written by Reese

October 14, 2010 at 12:36 pm

Posted in just life

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reese – I love this sky shot! I was totally awe struck by it this morning!

    sarah

    October 14, 2010 at 2:09 pm


Leave a Reply

