a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,725

leave a comment »

I’ve been shooting a bit more 35mm film than usual. No wait, let me backtrack a bit. I’ve been shooting more than usual. For a little while, I stopped shooting film, because it was going to take me too long to develop everything, but lately I’ve been back on it. Since I’ve completely run out of colour 35mm film, I’m mostly shooting B&W with perhaps the occasional roll of colour 35mm that a friend trades me. A while ago, I bought 20 rolls of Legacy Pro 400 from Freestyle and I’m slowly working my way through them. Since I shoot every roll at box speed, I never have to worry about pushing or pulling during development, and I really have no reason to even think about making excuses as to why I haven’t developed the film.

That said, I actually have about 7 or 8 rolls that are "weird speeds" and would need to be developed one at a time, which to me is a giant waste of time. I’ve since written the dilution and dev time at 20C on each roll in the hopes that one day, I’ll have more than one roll that requires the same dilution and dev time. Yeah, I know that I could just develop the rolls one by one, but I have a two-tank system and very little patience, and so they continue to sit undeveloped. I think the oldest one was shot maybe 2 or 3 years ago.

Oh and nevermind the random colour rolls that are lying around simply because I don’t trust any of the labs around here to do the processing for me, and the one that I’d like to use regularly shuts before I can get there after work. I may need to just drop the rolls off using their night-drop and then go pick them up on Saturday when I can get there. Or I can just try my luck at drugstore and hope the clerk is going to do a decent job, but it’s so hit or miss at places like that.

But anyway… it’s been fun shooting black and white, especially in these super easy point and shoots I’ve been using lately. My friend called them my Olympus Army, and yes indeed, it’s quite a little army I have so far: XA, Stylus Epic, and Stylus Epic 170 Zoom. The nice thing about these small cameras is that I can bring one with me wherever I go and not worry too much about the weight in my handbag. I’ve finally even gotten around to making a custom case for the Stylus Epic. Eventually, every point and shoot camera will have its own custom case that fits it perfectly.

Just thought I’d share a couple photos I recently took with my little Oly Army.

En fête

This photo above was taken with the Olympus Stylus Epic at my cousin’s birthday party at The Ambassador in the Tenderloin. She’d reserved the mezzanine level and for a good part of the party, I stood at the balcony overlooking the crowd below. I only took a few photos of the place, but one of my other cousins demanded that I take a photo of the two of us together. It’s too bad that he is not in the best condition in it, or I’d post it.

I particularly enjoyed bringing this camera since it has a built-in flash and it was great for the dimly lit party. Plus, the focusing distance was close enough and the angle was wide enough for arm’s length self-portraits. I’ll probably post a couple more shots from the party in due time, but for now, this is the only one I’ve posted. I feel like these party shots are probably boring to people who don’t know the people in the photos, but I guess a couple wouldn’t hurt.

Un sourire

So I have to admit to something: I sorta broke the new-to-me Olympus XA that D gave me for my birthday. A small bit of plastic on the front snapped off and the sliding door no longer stays in the track when it’s closed. It’s too bad, because I really love this little camera. It’s so easy to use and it’s very small and discreet. But anyway, it still works and takes photos, but for now it’s just a little more decrepit than it used to be.

That photo of Ian above was taken with the XA during the Papergirl SF rolling party. A bunch of volunteers rolled up mailed-in art from all over the world and then distributed the rolls to random folks on the street in SF via bicycle. Cute, idea eh? Anyway, the rolling party was held at Public Bikes in South Park (thanks Public, for being so awesome!) and that’s where this photo was taken. Public has a super nice, clean space and the lighting in there was simply gorgeous while we were in there. I have a few more photos from this to post too, but this one really was my favourite from the entire bunch. Ian is one of those people who is just so friendly and considerate. I met him riding the Butterlap and he was one of the few people who spoke to me on my first ride. (Butterlap folks are nice, but if it’s your first time and you don’t know anyone, it can be a little overwhelming to try to make friends when everyone seems to know everyone else.) But anyway, I love Ian! He’s seriously one of the best guys to have on a ride since he’s really helpful and can keep up a steady stream of conversation on the most random of topics.

Written by Reese

October 18, 2010 at 3:43 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

