a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,763 Matcha tiramisu

with 2 comments

Last night I got home from work and made up the matcha tiramisu. Luckily, I’d done all the shopping the previous night so I could just go straight home and start the whisking.

And my, what a lot of whisking it was!

So here we go.

Ingredient list:

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 1/2 c marsala wine or rum (but I used orange juice this time)
  • 1 lb mascarpone cheese (mashed until smooth)
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1-2 cups strong brewed green tea
  • Matcha powder
  • Enough savioardi for 2 layers in your serving pan

Equipment list:

  • A couple small bowls large enough for separating the eggs and mashing the cheese
  • 2 large bowls for whisking
  • A whisk or two (I like having two for this recipe)
  • Small flat bowl to dip the cookies into the tea
  • The serving dish (can be a lasagna tray or square pyrex pan)

First thing to do is separate the four egg yolks from their whites. I usually crack the eggs into a small bowl and use then use my fingers as a sieve to remove the yolks and plop them into the whisking bowl. I usually make an egg white omelet for a nice light meal after I make the tiramisu.

Oh, a small note on the whisking bowl. Since you’ll be using this whisking bowl as the top of a double boiler, you need to make sure the bowl is the right size to sit on top of a pot of boiling water. The bottom of the whisking bowl shouldn’t touch the hot water (it should be a very light boil, just more than a simmer). The idea is that the heat from the boiling water will heat the bottom of the whisking bowl.

Now that you have a pot and the bowl, put an inch or two of water in the pot (enough so that it can boil, but not too much that the bottom of the bowl will touch the water) and set it on the stove to boil. I put it on medium-low flame and let it heat up while I take care of the egg yolks.

Using a whisk, mix the egg yolks with the 1/2 cup sugar.

Whisk whisk the yolks and eggs!

Whisk and whisk and it’ll change from a deep yellow to a lighter yellow colour. It’ll be noticeable. Make sure you whisk long enough for it to become the pale yellow colour. I’m not sure what’ll happen if you don’t whisk long enough, but I’d encourage you not to waste your time and forearm power finding out. I think it has something to do with the fat molecules wrapping around the sugar crystals and some magic chemical process happening.

Magic!!

Add in the marsala wine or rum or orange juice in and pop the bowl on top of the boiling water. Remember, the water shouldn’t be boiling too hard, just gently enough and giving off some steam to heat the bottom of the bowl. Keep mixing the bowl while it’s on top the pot. What you’re trying to do here is keep the liquids moving so that the egg yolk doesn’t cook. This can take a while, 5-15 minutes, but persevere. You are making zabaglione, a traditional Italian custard.

Again, make sure to keep whisking while the custard is heating. You should feel it thicken and see small bubbles forming on the surface. When your whisk is pulling ribbons that still disappear, the custard is ready, so take it off the heat. Congrats, you’ve made zabaglione! If you don’t want to continue, you can just pour this over some fruit and serve this as a dessert. It will continue to thicken in the icebox if you want or you can serve it warm.

While it cools down, whip the heavy cream in another large bowl. By the way, you can do all this by hand but you can also use a stand mixer or hand mixer. I like doing it by hand since it’s not that difficult and doesn’t take too much longer than getting the stand mixer out. Besides, I have 2 whisks and 2 mixing bowls, but only one stand mixer, so I’d have to clean the whisker attachment and bowl between uses.

Hopefully, you’ll also have mixed the mascarpone cheese until smooth as instructed in the ingredient list. Add the cheese to the zabaglione and whisk until smooth. Plop the whipped cream on top and gently fold it in with a spatula. Once you’ve done all this, the mixture should be soft, but still have enough strength to stand up on the end of your finger just like this:

Zabaglione filling

If this is the case (and I hope it is), then you are ready for assembly. Pour the green tea into a flat bowl and get your serving dish ready. I dip the savioardi into the green tea bowl one by one, rolling it around in the tea until I can feel them start to disintegrate in my fingers. Before the cookie starts to fall apart, pull it from the tea bath and line the bottom of the serving dish. Depending on the shape, you may want to trim the cookies to make them fit. After you finish the bottom layer of cookies, spread half of the filling on top.

When you do the second layer of cookies, I advise turning the dish 90 degrees so that the two layers of cookies are oriented perpendicularly from each other. I don’t know that this does anything, but I like to think it helps the cake retain some kind of structural integrity. It’s in a dish and all, but I dunno, I can’t help it.

Assembly

Before you lay the second layer of cookies, you may want to dust the surface of the custard with the matcha powder. I didn’t do it this time because Franny hadn’t brought the powder home yet. Anyway, finish that second layer of cookies and top with the rest of the custard cream. Smooth it to make it pretty and dust the entire top with matcha. If you have leftover cream, you can mix it with a couple more cookies in a small bowl and have a “taster” version of the tiramisu. I usually do this to make sure the flavours came out just right. It would probably make more sense to make the “taster” before assembling the entire cake.

Well anyway, you’re done! Now put it in the fridge overnight and enjoy it the next day with someone you love.

Finis!!

Written by Reese

November 25, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. YUM!!! Now I can make this myself and I don’t need you anymore!!! Just kidding… or am I? 😛

    joygoddess

    December 13, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    • But are you going to even share it with the Dave? I think you’d just eat it in secret without him….

      Reese

      December 13, 2010 at 9:38 pm


Leave a Reply

