a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11768 Two December Resolutions

leave a comment »

Last night, I had some time to myself and decided to make a couple resolutions for the upcoming December month. I know the usual habit is to make resolutions for after the New Year, but I’m not one for waiting and I think it’d just be an excuse to put it off for another month. I’m more of a carpe diem kinda girl, so that’s exactly what I did.

1. Restrict eating out to only a couple times a week

I find that meeting with friends and going out with Frannie means that I eat out more than I’d like, so one resolution is to eat more at home, which means more home-cooking (yay). Last night I came home and ate fried rice with peas and an assortment of Korean banchan from the market. We go to this glorious Korean market every so often and buy some of their banchan to snack at home with our meals. Most of the time, I’ll just eat some kimchi and fry up some rice and that’ll be a meal. Ha. Kinda ghetto, but it gets the job done and it’s healthy as hell too. I love cooking extravagant meals, but I also love feeling healthy.

2. Write down three good things that happened to me

I plan to do this every night before bed in a paper journal that I keep at my bedside (rather on the fake fireplace’s mantel above our bed). Instead of writing some general stuff like, "Work wasn’t too stressful," I plan to write specific good happenings like, "I receive a nice compliment on my new specs from a co-workers." I hear that if you write specific events down it’s more meaningful than generic events.

I used to do the 5 Gratitudes thing everyday, but fell out of the habit, so this will be a way of tallying up the positive experiences of each day and going to sleep thinking about some good things that happened.

Wow, I’m such a hippie.

Written by Reese

November 30, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

