a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,795 Daydreams and shiny pretty things

with 4 comments

Whilst the world goes by

It has been a go-go-go holiday season for me and I feel like I need a good old-fashioned rest, possibly on a beach with a cocktail that comes with a little pink umbrella stabbed into a piece of fresh pineapple. Ah, that’d be nice. Actually, I hate sitting on the beach drinking stupid fruity drinks. I’d rather be sitting at a French cafe with a double espresso, a camera, the local newspaper, and all the time in the world. Then after I’m done with my coffee, I’ll wander over to the Carrefour and peruse the aisles for a bit and then head over to the cobblestoned city center to people watch. Ok now that would really be nice.

Where o where has my holiday gone? Too many parties, too much family, too much time spent in the car travelling everywhere. Not enough bike riding or grocery shopping or doing things I find stupidly fun like playing video games and petting the cat.

So let’s talk about something nice instead…

I got myself a nice new camera, the Canon S95. Yes, it is digital, yes it’s small, yes it’s not the best camera in the world. But you know what? It’s damned tiny and I’ve been taking it everywhere without a second thought. So far I’ve been loving the photos I’ve taken with it.

My two roommates On the back of the sofa Ready to ride

(Yes, typical idiot photos I know.)

The whole reason why I got a new camera is because my beloved old one finally broke and the other has been eating batteries like mad lately so it seemed like it was time to get a new replacement. Plus, the retail therapy did me good. Yep.

Expect to see a lot more random photos that have almost nothing to do with "good photography" and almost everything to do with "journaling" or "vanity." I’m sure at some point, I’ll look back on my life in my early 30s and wonder why I was so freakin’ vain and ridiculous. And I think I’ll also chuckle at my ridiculous early 30s self and tell myself that life sure was different back then.

Written by Reese

December 27, 2010 at 5:25 pm

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m going to try and sell my bigger camera so I can get a good, but small one, to fit in my bag at all times. I think I’ll take more pictures that way. I have a new phone with a 5mp camera on it, and it is so much fun to have it around, and to be able to upload it immediately.

    Bethany

    December 28, 2010 at 8:59 am

    • I love having the bigger camera tho! I have thought about replacing my dSLR with a mirrorless camera, but I just don’t think it has all the capabilities (plus I already have all the lenses I like). But yeah…. you gotta do what you gotta do to get yourself shooting! It’s fun to have a camera on you all the time to get whatever shot you want.

      Reese

      December 29, 2010 at 7:51 am

  2. its nice to to have diff size cameras to use whenever & where ever. i don’t carry my dslr all the time but its nice to whip out a nice small one when its around. happy holidays! πŸ™‚

    maomau

    December 30, 2010 at 10:46 am

    • Damn straight! I love having the option to use the bigger one or tote the small one for snappies. Happy holidays to you too!!

      Reese

      January 1, 2011 at 12:59 pm


Leave a Reply

