a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

1/ Buying the Monthly Train Pass

with 2 comments

I’ve never been a fan of new year’s resolutions. Most of the time, you end up not following through, feeling bad about it, and then hiding all the related posts on your blog because you couldn’t keep it up.

Oh wait, is that just something I do?

Instead of doing a new year’s resolution that will start on January 1st, I’ve decided to preempt the whole shebang and just start a project today. Today is Thursday 30 Dec 2010 and it’s nothing special. There’s really no reason to decide to start a project today out of all the days, but it’s the day that I’m going to start this one. So what’s the project?

I’d like to do a “My Everyday” project where I try to post a photo and a write a little blurb. I might not post the weekend’s entries until the following Monday, and if I take a holiday somewhere, it probably won’t be posted until after I return, so it won’t truly be “everyday” but you get what I mean, right?

So here is today’s photo:

1/ Monthly transaction

This morning I purchased the monthly train pass for January 2011. My workplace provides me with commuter checks (a pre-tax deduction from my paycheck) and in order to redeem them, I have to stop at a Walgreens (American drug store). Also, I should mention that I use the Clipper Card, a plastic card that has an RFID chip, to buy my monthly pass. I begrudgingly switched over from the paper ticket to this new-fangled technology when they closed all the ticket offices where I redeemed my commuter checks, thus reducing my options to the Clipper Card alone. Surprisingly, I haven’t had any trouble (yet) with the Card (knock on wood!). The red case is the card holder I use for my pass, the greenish square underneath is my Poketo wallet from the Netherlands, the commuter checks are on the right hand side, and on the left are my windproof, but not entirely waterproof gloves that have little to no insulation and are quite cold.

Written by Reese

December 30, 2010 at 3:18 pm

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I did the same thing. I pre-empted my New Year’s resolutions by starting them a few days ahead of time. I tell myself that it’s just because I was so excited to start, I couldn’t wait until Jan 1st. But the reality is that this way I don’t really have to think of them as a resolution. less pressure =)

    scarlet sprite

    December 31, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    • Haha… that’s so true! I do love how it doesn’t feel like a “new year’s resolution” per se… it’s more of just a goal I chose.

      Reese

      January 1, 2011 at 1:01 pm


Leave a Reply

