a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

5/ A ‘mixte’ up morning

with 2 comments

5/ Missed the usual

The day started off just perfectly when I remembered to tag on my Clipper Card at SF Caltrain. However, it was only after I got to my office that I realised that I forgot to tag off and ended up taking an extra quick 4 mile ride to the closest station and back to tag off. The Clipper Card is a pain in the butt, but I did get an extra 20 minute morning bikeride out of the whole thing, so I’m gonna call that even. Besides, I won’t need to tag on/off again for a whole month, so it’s really not so bad.

This past weekend, we went to the Japanese dollar store and I bought two adorable two-level bento. I’ve been reading up on making bento here and decided that it would be a good way for me to control my portions and eat a healthy balanced lunch. I like to bring my own lunch from home anyway, and this is just a prettier, more organised way to do it. Today’s lunch was:

  • 1 cup of white rice (I know I should be eating brown, but we just bought this beautiful bag of white and it’s soooooooo tasty)
  • 1/2 cup thawed frozen spinach
  • 1 cup golden lentil stew (made without the rice/pasta and chopped dates, and with some modification to the spice levels to suit my tastes)

I should have taken a photo of it, but it’s really not attractive, so I’ve spared you all from the horror of looking at my lunch.

This all packs conveniently into my 580 mL two-tier bento, with the rice on the bottom and the stew and spinach in the top, which is then handily strapped to my bike’s rear rack for transport. This little system works pretty well since the lunch doesn’t get jostled around in my messenger with the chance that it might spill all over everything. When I opened the bento at lunchtime, indeed everything was where it was supposed to be and looked just like I’d packed it that morning (except the spinach was defrosted and kinda sad and limp looking).

Note to self: work on making the vegetable portion more appetizing.

I’m actually feeling pretty good about the whole lentil/garbanzo stew thing since it has plenty of protein in the legumes and the rest of it is pretty much water, vegetables (onions, carrots, tomatoes), and spices. I increased all the spices in the original recipe and also added a good shake of cayenne pepper as I usually find recipes to be generally too bland. The stew turned out really tasty, and I’m excited to eat it again tomorrow (I made a huge pot, so I’m pretty much stuck with it for a few more days).

Written by Reese

January 3, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That lentil stew sounds tasty! Too bad I’m the only one in this house who likes lentils. I live with some strange people…. Thanks for the link to the recipe and to Just Bento.

    Bethany

    January 3, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    • You could have the whole pot all to yourself! And yes, the JustBento site is pretty awesome. Lots of good recipes and nicely written too.

      Reese

      January 4, 2011 at 7:48 am


Leave a Reply

