a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11804 Part 2 – Eating more salt

leave a comment »

(The second half of the post just got cut off…. weird.)

Eating a balanced meal just takes a few well thought-out additions to the daily diet

In the past few months, my low blood pressure has been bothering me more than usual. The last time I tried to give blood, I was rejected because my blood pressure was too low to be acceptable. I think they thought I’d faint, even though I felt just fine. I wasn’t so pleased at this news, but at the same time, I was feeling okay and didn’t think twice of it.

Lately, I’ve been feeling it more acutely. There have been times when I’ve felt a bit lightheaded even just sitting down at my desk at work. I’m used to feeling lightheaded or having fuzzy vision when I stand up too quickly from bending down, but getting it when I’m not changing position is new. Sometimes I can feel the blood pounding in my ears quite heavily for no reason, and I’m not quite sure what that means too. I’m afraid to look it up online because I just know the symptoms will point to something horrid and probably wrong. Besides, I’ve gotten blood tests within the past year and they always turn out just perfectly, well within all the acceptable ranges (with the exception that my pressure is always low).

Instead of going to the doctor, I’ve decided to try to increase my salt intake to increase my blood pressure and also to make sure I eat more protein. I know it sounds crazy, but it’s something to try, right?

The typical serving of natto with tare and mustard has about 100 calories, 325mg soldium, 4.5g fat, and 4.5g protein. It’s pretty much perfect as a breakfast food for me as far as giving me a decent amount of fat, protein, and sodium all in one small package. I typically eat this with a slice of bread (and maybe a slice of cheese) with some black coffee in the mornings. I happen to love natto, so it’s perfect for me anyway.

I also remembered that I have a package of umeboshi (pickled Japanese plums) in the fridge, so I’ve added one to my cute little lunch box. They are very salty and very sour, so I nibble a small bit of it to flavour each bite of rice. It’s helping add to my daily salt content for sure.

We’ll see if it works, but hopefully I’ll see some kind of change soon and it doesn’t turn into a more serious problem.

Written by Reese

January 5, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

