a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11806 Commonly Misspelled Words

with 2 comments

Let me get this out of the way first: I make a lot of mistakes, and very often I don’t even know that I’ve made a mistake until someone else points it out. And yes, there are even times when someone points out a mistake and I just still don’t get it.

Luckily, I can look up why my mistakes are mistakes. While looking up how to spell the word "grey" (which is also correctly spelled "gray"), I managed to click-click-click my way onto a list of the "100 most often misspelled words."

What do I do with this information? Well, I do what any normal person would do: make a spreadsheet of them all. Wait, isn’t that a normal person would do? I suppose normal is relative, so let’s just say that’s what a normal person would do according to me. And since my kind of normal person would also feel the need to write about some of them, that’s what I’ll do.

That’s totally normal, right?

So here are some of the words:

Misspell – Keep that extra ‘s’ in there. It’s mis + spell, so don’t misspell it.

Weird – I usually remember this by silently repeating to myself: WE are WEird so taht I know the e comes before the i. Yep. Besides, we really are weird!

Receive/Receipt – So this one actually follows the ‘i before e except after c’ rule. I don’t know why ‘weird’ is so weird.

Believe – And this one also follows the ‘i before e’ rule.

Foreign – And this one doesn’t. What can I say, English spellings are weird.

Written by Reese

January 7, 2011 at 9:57 am

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My son informed me that the ‘i before e except after c” rule is no longer an official rule (since 2009?) because there are too many words in the English language that violate it.

    I wish someone would make an official statement about these things so we all know!

    Like the its and it’s thing. When I was going to school the apostrophe was always used for the possessive, and now it no longer is. Huh?! Who changed it?! Now I have to check in my head, “Am I saying something belongs to it, or am I saying it is?” Ack!

    Bethany

    January 7, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    • Wow… I haven’t been keeping up with how grammar rules are changing. Interesting!!

      Reese

      January 8, 2011 at 11:19 pm


Leave a Reply

