a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11809 – The girl who reads is a happy girl

with 2 comments

For the past couple months, I’ve been busily knitting up a storm on my 45 minute train ride. I made a couple items that were gifted to friends and then decided to make myself some nice handwarmers and neckwarmer from the leftover wool. I’m trying to train myself to wear wool again, which may end up being a failure (yet again). I think I try to overcome my wool sensitivity at least once a year, and I usually end up deciding it’s not worth it.

Since I’ve been knitting, I haven’t been reading. I don’t usually like to bring a very heavy bag, so I tend to carry only what’s absolutely necessary — wallet, small notebook, music, mobile, and full flat kit (I don’t mess around). I’ll usually add in the rain poncho if it looks like it may rain and extra gloves and armwarmers if need be. On top of all this, I carry either a book or a small knitting project, but usually not both.

And so, I’m back on the reading kick.

This weekend, I bought two books at the Goodwill: The Girls’ Guide to Fishing and Hunting by Melissa Bank and Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain.

Ok, so I admit that I don’t read classics. Neither of these books are going to turn into classics, but they do make for entertaining reading on the train when I only really get to read for 30 minutes at a time at most.

In the two days that I’ve had The Girls’ Guide I’ve breezed right through about half of it. It’s a fun read for sure, and I did learn about split infinitives (but please don’t expect me to start fixing them). That said, it’s super light reading and not really challenging me or teaching me anything new. I think I’ll have to take a break and read something more challenging after I’m done with this one. I’ve been slowly working my way through Camus’s L’Étrangère, but it’s slow going because my French just isn’t what it used to be. We’ll see. I may just give up entirely on reading it in French anyway since it’s quite slow for me. When am I really going to use practical French again anyway? Probably never.

Written by Reese

January 10, 2011 at 10:16 am

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I liked BOTH those books!! (the Bourdain and the Girls’ Guide)

    I’m thinking of letting my French slide (even moreso than I already have) and renewing my high school Spanish. I mean, if I’m going to be teaching public school, Spanish is going to be almost necessary. 🙂

    carolyn

    January 10, 2011 at 10:21 am

    • Yes Spanish would probably be much more useful for you. I’m just about finished with the Girls’ Guide. Breezed right through it!

      Reese

      January 11, 2011 at 9:18 pm


Leave a Reply

