a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Reading material

leave a comment »

Just recently, I started reading "After Dark" by Murakami. As I’m sure many other Murakami readers have done, I looked up and listened to Curtis Fuller’s "Five Spot After Dark" to see if I knew the melody.

I did not.

This wasn’t terribly surprising, as it’s a trombone track and my very limited experience with jazz music has been mostly with big band and Sarah Vaughn. Don’t know that I could whistle any more than a few tunes off the top of my head if asked.

Lately, I’ve felt like writing more, creating something that I can see playing in my head, but I’ve been unsure of my own ability as a writer, thinker, conjurer, day-dreamer. A lot of my stories end up being so similar to one another, wrapped in the same theme, the same types of characters.

It’s time to grow and learn.

I suppose that reading other authors will help me expand my own writing abilities. Even if it doesn’t, at least I’ll enjoy the experience.

Written by Reese

January 31, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

