a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Baking turtles and oatmeal cookies

with 4 comments

I must really be feeling the wintertime blues because I’ve recently had the urge to do a lot of baking. Not only does it make the house smell good, but the oven warms up the kitchen area. Baking also gives me a great excuse to get people together to eat my baked goods since I am really into sharing and exchanging.

The latest baking obsession is oatmeal cookies. I saw a recipe for blueberry-oatmeal cookies on Serious Eats and then found a few more discussions on Chowhound regarding thick, chewy oatmeal cookies. I am highly influenced by the internet, aka, what pops up in my RSS feeds. I have at least three oatmeal cookie recipes to try in the coming weeks, but I imagine I’ll end up using the basic standby recipe, the one printed inside the lid of the Quaker Oats canister.

This weekend, I’ll be sharing something called Turtle Bars with friends. In case you don’t know (and I didn’t know this), a ‘turtle’ dessert is when you mix caramel, pecans, and chocolate together.

(How do you say "pecans"? I say it pee-KAHNZ with a long AHH, but I’ve heard people say it PEE-kans or pee-KANS.)

There are a lot of turtle bar recipes out on the internets. The one I’m planning to make has a flour/butter shortbread-type crust that’s baked in the pan. Then a filling is poured on top and chopped pecans and chocolate chips are evenly sprinkled over and the whole thing is baked until the chocolate is all melty gooey and the edges are browned. At first I thought this is going to be like the three-layer nanaimo bars that I made last week, but it sounds more like just two layers of shortbread and chocolate/nut/caramel topping. Sounds simple enough, and the ingredients are just what I have at home (except for the pecans), so why not make em, right?

Written by Reese

February 25, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Posted in just life

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay for baking!! That turtle bar recipe sounds delicious…it’s nice to balance the gooey richness of the “turtle” part with a drier crust!
    I love how ‘pecans’ has so many pronunciations!! I personally say puh-KAHNZ (the “puh” is the schwa sound, like the a in ‘about’), which I think is the normal way midwesterners say it? I know southerners say PEE-kan, like, “y’all want some PEE-kan paaah?” 😀

    Lorelei

    February 25, 2011 at 1:23 pm

  2. puhkAAAAHHHHHHNZ.

    carolyn

    February 25, 2011 at 4:03 pm

  3. YUMMI-NESS!

    Joe

    February 26, 2011 at 11:43 pm

  4. Most people over the pond say it Pee-can with no particular emphasis on either syllable. I notice that there seems to be emphasis on the last syllable Stateside for some reason. Probably the same one that makes herbs, erbs and so on.

    I think turtle bars might have to be renamed over here in case of animal rights campaigners – they’re a violent lot!

    Peter B

    February 28, 2011 at 2:57 pm


Leave a Reply

