a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

11,859

leave a comment »

We’d been there for 5.5 hours when I decided to get on the computer and check my email and discuss strange tropical fruit with a friend. He wanted to know how everything was going, so we talked about breakfast (the only meal we’d eaten so far), and went over all the types of foods available.

Let me tell you about this fruit I ate this morning. It was juicy and crunchy, pink on the outside, and whitish on the inside. There was a big pit in the center that was removed by the people in the kitchen. Do you know what this is?

No idea…

Oh I found it. Here’s the link.

I’ve never seen that before. Wait, tell me if they had this steamed tofu egg dish, because it’s so good.

Hmm… I don’t think so…

So instead, we talked about how the first 5.5 hours went. It took forever for the bags to come out of the carousel, but once they did, our driver whisked us away and sped along the highway to the small town. Along the way, I noticed that the highway sign for “Food” was an image of a rice bowl, spoon, and pair of chopsticks. Quite a change from the regular knife and fork image that was so familiar to me. I giggled to myself and listened to the driver discuss everything with F, from food to hotels to furnished flats to driving. Of course, I only picked up a few words, but I was engrossed with taking photos of other cars on the road and studying the foggy landscape that whipped past, the trees violently waving at me in the wind.

So far, so good.

Written by Reese

March 1, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

