a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Learn Chinese Everyday

with 2 comments

I’ve recently started to learn Chinese characters and have been using the site Learn Chinese Everyday. There are a lot of sites out there, but I like this one a lot because it chooses a character to teach you each day (weekdays only) and provides both simplified and traditional forms of the character.

You probably don’t know this about me, but as a child I attended Chinese School every Saturday for about 4-5 years. I never really got far with learning, and was constantly being placed back into classes with younger children. The problem was that most of the kids at the school already spoke Chinese and were just learning how to write the characters. I can write endless pages of characters as much as the next person, but learning how to use them really frustrated me. To this day, a 5 year old can totally crush me with their Chinese language knowledge.

In order to learn Chinese again, I’m relying a lot on the Mister and this Learn Chinese Everyday website. It helps a lot that the Mister is being quite helpful to me as far as answering questions on how to use a word, but it’s also unhelpful that he has a Beijing accent (which he says isn’t so strong, but I still think he’s making me insert unnecessary Rs into pronunciation). That said, he is really an invaluable resource as far as helping me learn how to use the characters I learn.

We’ll see how well this Chinese language thing goes. I was thinking of asking the Mister to institute a Chinese-only environment at home, but it’s quite unrealistic at this point since my knowledge is so little. We do try watching the Chinese news every so often, but I usually end up getting bored and switching it to a Korean or Japanese drama instead. I guess what I should do is just watch a lot of Mandarin dramas in the hopes that being exposed will help get me used to hearing words and sounds, which may help with my listening comprehension when my vocabulary catches up.

Written by Reese

March 18, 2011 at 12:45 pm

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I first met my (now) wife I was really into learning Cantonese, before realising it was probably the toughest of the dialects to learn. Then I switched my attention to Mandarin, but then my PhD got in the way, then retail work that kills your free time.

    Anyway, I’ve been thinking I should get back to it. Chinese Pod is a good one to try.

    It’s funny you should say your hubby is from Beijing; their accents stand out a mile off! Did you spend any of your childhood in China or Taiwan?

    Peter B

    March 18, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    • I actually signed up for Chinese Pod, but it’s only a limited-time free trial, and I didn’t want to pay, so I decided not to continue. Oh well… I’m going to do it the really difficult brute force method that I’m so good at, so we’ll see how that goes.

      I’ve been told by Taiwanese friends that the Beijing accent sounds really harsh to them, compared to the softer more gentle sounds of Taiwanese mandarin.

      My family visited Taiwan as a child, but I never really spent any appreciable time there. Then again, we visited a lot of places when I was young, usually for only a short time.

      Reese

      March 19, 2011 at 12:17 pm


Leave a Reply

