a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

What are you reading lately?

with 8 comments

I don’t often have deep thoughts on this blog, and I’m totally okay with that. In fact, I’m not even sure anyone reads this, but that’s okay with me too.

A month or two ago, I got a library card in the town where I work. It just happens that there is a decent sized branch about a mile away from my office, so I constantly have a book or two checked out from there. The really funny thing about my library trips is that while I sometimes have a specific book in mind before I go, I usually end up perusing the "display shelf," which is right in the front of the library near the entrance. I’m not really sure who decides what goes on the display shelf, but so far it’s yielded some good finds for me.

This last time, I checked out Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, Murakami’s Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, and Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking. These were all randomly found on the display shelf. I’d originally gone to get Eugenides’s Middlesex, but these other three caught my eye. (You may be amused to know that I saw Middlesex on the display shelf, but apparently they were all checked out and I would have had to visit the actual shelf to get a copy this time.)

The greatest thing about the display shelf is that I don’t have to think too hard about what to read next. It does the browsing for me and gives me a few suggestions. It’s like an old-fashioned version of Google Ads only better!

I decided to read Interpreter of Maladies first, and I’ve already mowed through three of the stories in quite short order. (I read quite diligently during my lunchtime and on the train each way.) Short stories are perfect for my commute because I can easily consume an entire story without having to invest too much into a much larger plot. Then again, the novels are so much more satisfying because the stories are usually much more complicated and intriguing.

What are you reading lately?

Written by Reese

March 30, 2011 at 11:36 am

Posted in just life

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just finished Room by Emma Donoghue. It was brilliant. Now I’m reading The Bad Girl by Mario Vargas Llosa. So far so good. You simply must grab Middlesex on your next library visit. One of my favorite books. Ever.

    Jill

    April 2, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    • I’ll check out those titles next time I’m at the library! And yes, Middlesex for sure next time.

      Reese

      April 2, 2011 at 4:44 pm

  2. I saw someone attempting to read Middlesex on the train the other day (well, perhaps she just got it out to look cultured). Have I missed something – is it good?

    Anyway, I was reading Bill Bryson’s At Home until I fell off the reading train. I do have to be in a certain mood, which doesn’t happen much these days 🙂

    But, Bill Bryson is a must for me – Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid is a hoot.

    Peter B

    April 3, 2011 at 2:48 am

    • I have no idea if Middlesex is wonderful or not, but it sure seems like everyone recommends it rather highly, so it must be worth checking out.

      I’ll have to see if the library has anything by Bill Bryson too.

      Reese

      April 3, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  3. MIDDLESEX!!! Get it, read it, love it.

    Reading “the Gastronomical Me” by MFK Fisher and wondering how I hadn’t read her years earlier. She is so witty!

    joygoddess

    April 3, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    • Alright alright! I’ll get Middlesex next visit!

      Reese

      April 9, 2011 at 1:27 pm

  4. It may not be anything new to you, but worth a read is Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything. Excellent writing and there are one or two things I learned from it too.

    Peter B

    April 4, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    • I’ve not read anything by Bryson, so I’ll be sure to check him out.

      Reese

      April 9, 2011 at 1:28 pm


Leave a Reply

