a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

The Year of Magical Thinking: page 49

with 2 comments

This book, this intensely personal study of one person’s grief, is making me recall how I felt after people I knew had passed away. There were a few accidents, a couple suicides, and a few medical conditions/natural causes. I’ve not known a significant number of people who have died, which is probably a function of my age, and I’m sure that, much too soon after the current series of weddings and babies, the funerals will begin. It worries me a little to think about the passing on of people I hold dear, especially so if they’re taken quite suddenly and unexpectedly; it feels that much more difficult to accept these deaths because they leave a gaping hole in your life.

Written by Reese

April 3, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Posted in just life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting you mention this, because at quiet moments I consider how I’d cope without loved ones. Sure, my grandparents passed several years back, but the younger you are the less time you have spent with them. My wife and I have known each other ten years and been married half that and I can’t imagine life without her.

    You grow almost ‘integrated’ with them over time, such that the loss of them would mean a loss of you too.

    Peter B

    April 4, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    • Yes, your lives twine together and when they’re no longer there, it’s just hard to imagine the void.

      Reese

      April 9, 2011 at 1:27 pm


Leave a Reply

