a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Room temperature lunches

with 6 comments

For a long time (almost a year), I’d bring a sandwich to work for my lunch. Without fail, it would be one of the following on wheat or multigrain bread:

  • Peanut butter and jelly
  • Two slices of cheese
  • Two slices of cheese with mustard

As you can see, I am all about variety!

This past week, I decided to start bringing a non-sandwich lunch to work again, so I’ve been making this lime-cilantro black bean salad that I eat at room temperature with a bit of rice (or whatever cooked grain I have on hand). After eating this for almost a week straight, I finally ran out of black beans and decided to try my hand at making some kind of garbanzo bean salad instead. I bought myself some dried garbanzo beans, cooked them overnight in the slow cooker, and mixed it up with lemon juice, parsley, salt and pepper. Toss that into the container with some bulgur and there’s my brand new lunch!

Since I am not easily given to change when it comes to lunchtime decisions, it’s been rather challenging to think of new room temperature lunches for me to eat at work.

(Yes, it has to be at room temperature. I don’t like using the microwave.)

So far my formula has been:

  • Some kind of protein in the form of a legume or tofu
  • Hopefully some vegetables, probably finely chopped fresh shallots, zucchini, or carrots, or some frozen vegetables (peas, corn, mixed vegetables, etc)
  • Lime or lemon juice
  • Hot sauce
  • Whatever grain is on hand

Do you have any go-to lunch recipes? Any suggestions for what I might make next? I’d love any suggestions for recipes that aren’t too liquidy as I have to carry this around in my messenger bag and I would hate for my somewhat-reliable container to leak in there.

Written by Reese

April 20, 2011 at 12:07 pm

Posted in just life

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I struggle with lunches too. Seems there’s a limited amount of stuff you can cart to work without it all going horribly wrong. However, we have a fridge we can store stuff in – could you shop at work and store things there?

    Peter B

    April 22, 2011 at 4:04 pm

    • Yeah I could, but I often just end up bringing something everyday. I do leave snacks at my desk, typically almonds and dried fruit, for when I’m too lazy to bring fresh fruit to snack on.

      Reese

      April 28, 2011 at 10:01 pm

  2. pesto pasta? You can make the pesto at home to taste and the nuts provide protein. Add some lightly cooked veggie like broccoli or carrot, and you’re good to go. Yeah, I would add an apple as a palate cleanser.

    Lilia

    April 25, 2011 at 1:12 am

    • Mmmm pesto pasta sounds like a good option! I’ll try that sometime. Thanks!

      Reese

      April 28, 2011 at 10:01 pm

  3. You could just keep eating stale wasabi peas.

    joygoddess

    April 28, 2011 at 7:13 pm


Leave a Reply

