a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Too many words

leave a comment »

I’ve been doing a lot of baking and wrenching on my bike, and not a lot of writing or making (meaningful) photographs. The most writing I’ve done lately is a paragraph or two here and there. Words just haven’t been doing it for me lately. I’ve even changed from reading books on the train to listening to music and knitting. Granted, before all this, I was devouring books in a matter of days and writing for at least a half hour almost everyday, so maybe it was just a matter of overload.

Obviously, I don’t like to take things in moderation.

Also, I’ve been focusing more on other things, like exercising my body and contacting friends. I don’t feel much like writing more after writing lengthy emails to close friends. Sometimes, it just feels like there are too many words spilling into your life and it’s time to let things trickle back down to a manageable level.

(Or it’s quite possible I’m the only person who thinks this way, in which case just take my word for it.)

My usual escape from when I feel a bit off is usually seeing friends, just involves yet more words. Wouldn’t it be awkward if I wanted to hang out, but didn’t really want to talk that much? Actually, a few of my closest friends would probably be okay with doing that, but for the most part, people like to get together and talk when they hang out. I also can’t help but prattle on and on around others too, no matter how much I might like to be quiet. Just a nasty habit, I suppose, of needing to fill silence with words when someone else is around.

So what’s a girl to do, when she needs to reset herself? One of the current solutions is to just ride my bike. I can pedal along, humming whatever tune is in my head, sometimes singing it aloud. It’s always horridly embarrassing to find that I’ve been singing along to my invisible karaoke machine while another biker has been riding just behind me for a bit. I don’t get much deep thinking done during these rides, since I focus on my breathing and how my body feels instead. Staying alert, watching the road for obstacles, being aware of cars, humming the music in my head, it’s all I can do while I’m riding my bike. I’d need to stop riding for a minute if I wanted to contemplate something complex, like an intriguing problem at work or any issues I might have with my relationships with others.

It’s a welcome respite from the words, and it gets my blood pumping, which I think solves a whole ton of problems in life. How bad can things possibly be when you still have the ability to go outside, get your body working hard, sweat out all those insecurities and problems, and get your blood pumping through your veins. Oh and all those nice endorphins help a lot too.

Exercise: The Problem Solver, The Slate Cleaner, The Mood Changer.

Ten year ago, if you’d told me I’d be saying this today, I would have thought you were loopy.

Written by Reese

May 26, 2011 at 1:23 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

