a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

Raw Shark Texts, Page 384

leave a comment »

I have just over 40 pages remaining before this book is over, and I’m getting that sad feeling I get when I know a book is ending. Really guys, this book is great. I realise that I like probably 80% of the books that I read (I am so easily pleased, I know), but I am really really enjoying this one. The hardest part is knowing that the author has only written one novel, and it’s the one that’s coming to a close, so what’ll be next?

*sob*

Guess I’m just that wound up in the characters. I find my own heart beating faster when they’re running from danger, feel that slight ache in my chest when they’re describing sweet memories and emotions.

I feel like I should point out a somewhat strange coincidence regarding this book. Shortly before I started this book, I made a new friend and have been discussing books and authors with him. I happened to recommend Murakami and he happened to recommend Italo Calvino. Lo and behold, there are four parts in The Raw Shark Texts, each prefaced by a quote from four different authors, two of which are the aforementioned (both recommended before I reached those sections)! Interesting coincidence, eh?

By the way, the other two quoted authors are Jorge Luis Borges and Raymond Carver.

As a result of this book coming to a close, I’ve decided to make it a point to read a bit of Borges, Carver, and Calvino. It’ll be a good tangential inspiration, I believe, especially since I am not dead set on the next book already. Lolita was on there, but that’s highly dependent on finding a copy at the library (they seem to constantly be on loan). If I find one, then I’ll read it, but otherwise, I’ll take a poke at these other authors and see what I can come up with.

Written by Reese

June 10, 2011 at 11:38 am

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

