a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

How 2012 has been doing so far

leave a comment »

I don’t know how 2012 has been treating you, but so far it’s been a wonderful year. Some of my friends have started new adventures, some are planning for some big changes, and it seems that all around 2012 is going to be a good one.

At least I’m really hoping so!

I don’t make new year resolutions because I think they’re tacky and, let’s face it, everyone else does them, so why should I do it too? I know, I am such a lame little rebel. So even though, I prefer not to call them my resolutions, of course I’ve sat and thought what kinds of goals I’d like to accomplish this year in my life. I don’t think I’ll be successful at all of them, but it’s nice to dream, right?

My short list 2012 goals:

  • Continue to ride my bike as much as I can
  • Remember to get in touch with friends that I don’t see very often
  • Spend time with Fran
  • Re-learn Bach’s Italian Concerto in its entirety. Memorization possible, but optional.
  • Meet and become moderate friends with at least two new people

I don’t think I’m asking for too much here, so it should be achievable. The only one I’d worry about is that last goal of making two new friends. Even though I’m quite sociable, I find it difficult to make friends past the acquaintance level. I could say that it’s just harder at my age, but that’s honestly just an excuse. It’s true that a lot of people I met already have full social schedules, but that’s not why I have trouble getting past acquaintances. It’s more of a personal problem of not giving myself over more fully to friends to let us become closer. There’s always that slight wall to climb, eh?

But anyway, I’m going to try my best to allow myself to get in situations where I can meet new people. Maybe the hardest part is simply getting out there and opening up. After that, things usually quite fall into place once you find common interests.

Written by Reese

February 10, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

