a left-eyed girl

living in a 2 dimensional world

5月28日(日)

leave a comment »

Tonight I cuddled with E as she lay on my shoulder. Her hair brushed against my cheek. Those soft waves of dark brown, almost black hair. We’d already turned off the lights so I couldn’t see her, but I felt her contentedly burrowed into me, her steady breathing whispering in the darkness.

As I waited for her to fall asleep, I thought about how both kids had inherited my soft, slightly wavy hair instead of their father’s stiff straight hair. I already knew all the struggles they’d have with their hair, our hair. The grass is always greener, or something like that. I’d gone through many years of curling or straightening it, dyeing it any color I thought might work, trying all different hairstyles before I’d found something that worked for me. They’d probably go through similar stages, trying all kinds of looks. Girls can be chameleons in a way.

I also thought about all the other struggles they’d have in their lives. And all the issues I’d have to watch them going through, knowing that I wouldn’t be able to help. Many would be ones they’d need to work out themselves. Learning to love others and themselves, finding a place where they fit and were accepted.

Maybe that’s one of the harder bits of parenting. I haven’t done it before either, so all I can do is roll with the punches as they come.

Written by Reese

May 28, 2017 at 5:10 am

Posted in just life

Leave a Reply

